An airport oasis: Icebox Cafe

Located around D8 in Miami International Airport (and apparently also South Beach).

I had a 4 hour layover in the Miami airport today. I was so hungry I was about to chew my arm off. After walking from one end of the airport to the other, I was super bummed about the veggie food options (not that this is a new problem – every vegetarian knows that veggie road food is typically, um, wanting).  That is, I was bummed until I spotted a cute food counter with wine bottles, freshly baked goods and a chalkboard wall with the day’s specials. Whaaat? In an airport?!

Here’s a view from one side of the counter:

A closer view of the menu/baked goods (I definitely considered buying that bottle of wine):

And here’s a view from the other side (I later ate on one of those stools):

I stood in line for a much-longer-than-average time and ordered a plate of gado gado made with brown rice, kale, eggplant, tofu and a peanut sauce. I was ecstatic. OK, maybe it wasn’t the most well prepared dish of all time, but it was probably the best airport food I have ever had. Not to mention, I’ve never had gado gado before (I even had to do a little googling after I ordered it). Who would have guessed that I would expand my culinary horizons (in a positive way) at the airport!

I was so pleased, I braved the line a second time for a carrot cupcake.  And I’m so glad I did. The cupcake rocked.  In fact, it merited a picture, but I ate it too fast.  If I lived near this place, I might consider going to the airport just to pick up carrot cupcakes. Well, maybe not, but I’d think about it…

Has anyone else been to a good restaurant in an airport? If so, where? I need to keep a list and route my layovers accordingly!

2 thoughts on “An airport oasis: Icebox Cafe

  1. Did the guy with all the tats wearing a wife beater like the brown rice kale eggplant etc etc as well? For airport oasisi I cannot recommend Brooklyns in the Newark airport, but Fresh City in Logan is a winner (despite the mediocre name).

Leave a Reply

