Boozy cucumber-ginger-lime slushies

We’re on to week 5 of our summer cocktail series (how is summer moving so quickly?!).  To catch up on past recipes, click on the Cocktails category.  For new recipes, swing by on Fridays.

I had two different recipes (I mean, food recipes) that I wanted to share with you this week.  But, somehow the week slipped through my fingers.  I didn’t do much cooking, mostly because Alex and I went on a little hiking/camping trip and because, on our return, I felt so guilty about abandoning work that I didn’t leave my computer for 3 days.  I’ll tell you more about the hiking/camping in our next post.  In this post, I want to send sympathy waves out to the people who are melting on the East coast in 100+ degree temps.  Today’s frozen cocktail is dedicated to you.

There are a couple ways you can make this slushy and I opted for the fastest way, since I thought everyone would just want to have an icy, cold drink in hand as soon as possible.  We’ll make the drink in a blender.  An alternative is to add a cup of water into the mix and then freeze it in a bowl in your freezer (similarly to how the sorbet is frozen in this post) or in your ice cream maker.  If you don’t have a blender or you want a little more intensely flavored drink, you can go that route.

Lastly, before we get to the recipe, here’s a shout out to Inga for turning me on to blended cucumber drinks!  What a marvelous thing.  I just drank two, in fact.  (And, yes, it’s noon.  I’m trying to embrace an Hemingway-esque lifestyle of swishing down cocktails as I write at my computer.  Though, I don’t think Hemingway used a computer…and there’s some other major aptitude-related dissimilarities that I’ll overlook.)

Enjoy!  Stay cool!

Cucumber-ginger-lime slushies
Makes 4-6 drinks

  • 1 cucumber, peeled and cut into big chunks
  • Juice from 3 limes
  • Ginger syrup: simmer 1 inch of sliced ginger root with 1/4 c sugar and 1/2 c water for 10 minutes
  • 6 oz vodka
  • 4 c ice cubes
  • optional cucumber slice for garnish

Add everything but the ice to your blender.  Blend until it’s smooth.  Add in half the ice.  Blend more.  Add in the rest of the ice.  Blend until it’s slushy consistency.

Wouldn’t this picture be better if I were at a pool?

13 thoughts on “Boozy cucumber-ginger-lime slushies

  1. Sounds awesome! Love the Hemmingway reference as well as I just watched Midnight in Paris (Hemmingway makes an appearance) 🙂

  2. This slushy sounds so spectacular! It brings forth images of having underpaid man-servants catering to my boozy needs in the hot summer. And ps, the photography on the drink (not to mention every other photo on this site) is phenomenal.

  3. Thanks so much about the photos! We’re working on them…slowly but surely. It’s hard for me to be patient enough to snap a picture when there’s a nice drink melting in front of my eyes. Or whatever. ANYWAY, your comment made me chuckle. I was just saying to a friend the other day that I don’t have any strapping young lads around to refill my glass, so have to make drinks in pitchers. A girl can dream. (Alex! You’re the best!)

  4. Allison,
    Cucumber are so perfectly fresh in a cocktail. I am a fan. And slushies – what’s not to love? So cool that you combined the two irresistible elements. Cheers,
    -Erin

  5. Pingback: hot mess. | Love Without Handles

Leave a Reply

