Zucchini pie with yeasted olive oil crust

I am so happy with this savory pie.  Here’s the deal: the filling takes about four minutes to pull together and you can use any pie shell you want.  You can make this recipe in a snap with a pre-made crust, or you can give it a little more love and make the crust yourself.

I went with a yeasted olive oil crust from one of my most favorite cookbooks, Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone.  I usually shy away from tart and quiche type things for dinner because, with a buttery crust, they can be pretty high in calories.  This crust is lighter.  In many ways, it’s like a thin pizza dough enriched with olive oil and an egg.  It’s seriously very easy to make — not fussy and it comes together within a few minutes.  I think it’s much easier than a regular pie dough.  All you need is a bit of time to let the dough rise.

If you prefer a traditional shell, I am currently digging on this recipe for a for a flaky rye pie crust on 101 cookbooks.  I would definitely go the beer route for the liquid in the crust.  A Pilsner style would be perfect.

So, on to the filling.  Ever since that zucchini casserole, I’ve been thinking about a pie.  The flavors in this pie, white wine vinegar and mustard, draw from a southern French salad dressing recipe a friend taught me a while back.  The dressing, combined with Gruyere, pulls together a very flavorful dish.

And on that note, I’m back to the books!  Thanks to everyone who’s hanging in as I crank on school right now.  I start my qualifying exams tomorrow (!) and will be focused on those over the next month or so.  I have a couple posts in the works that I’m excited about, but it’s tough to say how quickly I’ll get them up.  Here’s to hoping my exams end up being really easy and I can spend my days cooking and blogging…

Yeasted Tart Dough with Olive Oil
I changed a couple things from the original recipe in Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone.  I decreased the yeast, so it now uses the standard amount in a package of yeast (assuming most people aren’t buying it in bulk).  I also upped the salt a little.  Lastly, I added all of the weights of the ingredients (are you on the fence about weighing still? Remember this post?).

This recipe makes a generous 10 pie shell (there will be a little extra that can be used for a galette or cooked as a roll)

  • 1 package (1.75 t, 7 g) active dry yeast
  • 1/2 t sugar (2 g)
  • 1/2 c warm water (110 g)
  • 3 T olive oil (32 g)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 t salt (3 g)
  • 1 3/4 c four (245g), plus more to flour work surface, etc.

Don’t bother pulling out your stand mixer for this one.  It’s very easy to do by hand.

Dissolve the yeast and water in a medium bowl and let stand until bubbly, about 10 minutes.

Add the oil, egg and salt.  Stir in flour.  When the dough stiffens, turn onto a work surface and knead until it is smooth, about 4 minutes.

Set the dough in an oiled bowl, turn it over to coat, cover with a towel, and let rise until almost doubled in bulk, or about 45 min.

Turn dough out onto work surface.  With a rolling pin, roll the dough out into a thin circle (approx 1/4 in thick).

Zucchini pie

  • 2 large zucchini, thinly sliced
  • 1 heaping cup of Gruyere, grated (Swiss, Emmental or Comte would be good, too)
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 t Dijon mustard
  • 1 T white wine vinegar
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 3/4 t salt
  • 1/2 t pepper
  • two dashes of cayenne
  • 1 egg, beaten

Preheat the oven to 350.

Grease the pie pan and lay the pie crust down.  If you’re using the recipe above, it will probably overhang the pie plate quite a bit.  Trim the dough to fit your plate.

Add zucchini and cheese to a large bowl.  In a small bowl, whisk together garlic, mustard, vinegar, olive oil, salt, pepper and cayenne.

Add dressing and egg to the zucchini and cheese.  Stir until well mixed.

Pour zucchini mixture into pie plate.

Bake for approximately 50 minutes, until the crust is golden brown.

Let set for 15 minutes and then dig in!  This dish is best when it’s fresh from the oven and the crust is nice and crispy.

14 thoughts on “Zucchini pie with yeasted olive oil crust

  1. Hey Allison,
    This looks amazing! And I am intrigued by your yeasted olive oil crust. I am wondering if I could make it gluten-free? I’ll just have to try;) And the zucchini gruyere combo sounds perfect. I wish I were at your place for lunch today!
    Good luck with school,
    Erin

    • Thanks! Something tells me you have an amazing gf crust in your repertoire. Have you tried Keller’s Cup 4 Cup yet? I wonder how well that works.

      And thanks for the well wishes. Good luck to you, too!

  2. Pingback: Stay Flexible – Going Gratin | Agrigirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

